Are You Broke? Continued…

by

A few months ago, I asked you if you know why it is you are broke?

No one answered. No one even replied. Not here. Not even in the news paper.

About the same time, I sent out an email to my peers, friends, family and acquaintances… I asked them if they would be interested in starting an investment club here in Federal Way? I told them I had had a very good success record and I’d love to show them what I have been doing. No one even responded. Well, that isn’t entirely true – my kids jumped at the offer because they know what I can do, they have seen it and we took our profits and spent a good portion of them going on vacations to the Adventure Dome at Circus Circus in Las Vegas and on a weeks vacation to Raging Waters in San Jose and Disneyland.

In 2003, we got a tax refund of $2500. I invested it into a company that had a constant stock price fluctuation like this one does over the last year: http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=IHTI.PK#chart1:symbol=ihti.pk;range=1y;indicator=volume;charttype=line;crosshair=on;ohlcvalues=0;logscale=on;source=undefined

Over a 4 month period, I bought the stock each time it hit the bottom line, and sold it each time it came close to hitting the top line. I didn’t know what it was called, I didn’t really know to keep doing this and double my money exponentially until I could retire. I cashed out at $12,500 – in 4 months. At the time, all I knew was that it worked, that I was good at finding these stocks and researching them to limit risk and make sure they will continue to be there for me. At the time, I had the traveling bug and wanted to go on vacations with the family. So that is what we used the money for.

I stopped completely when I cashed out. That is, until last September (2007), when I rediscovered an old math lesson from college called doubling a penny for 30 days. http://www.al6400.com/blog/2006/07/10/a-penny-doubled-everyday/

That’s when I started thinking… how can I make this work? I’ve done this before… but where? Guess what I remembered? Today, I’m not using pennies… I’m using dollars. I’m not using days I am using months and quarters. I’m not just cashing out, I am re-investing and I am still doubling. I started with $500. By my calculations, if my investment portfolio is worth $10,000 today and I can continue this trend trading (also called channel trading and cyclical trading) I should be able to retire by next year and just spend a few minutes a day trading my stocks, right? With the penny doubling calculations at $10,000 – I am at week 21… so if I am on track I’m about 9 months away. Check my math am I right?

I have 5 criteria that a stock must match:

1. In business for more than 3 years.

2. The cycle has to be regular for the last year.

3. The company is stable and not going deeper into debt.

4. Buy low sell high.

5 Have an exit strategy – Can you sell what you own? (Daily Volume > 4k) What will you invest in next?

So, back to the invites… I got three bites from people that wanted to invest with me and have me coach them along, my daughter, her boyfriend and my oldest son. Yeah that really didn’t shock me either.

Someone wise once said to another person whom he had held underwater for over a minute: “When you want success as bad as you wanted to breathe just now? That is when you will become successful.” This I find true at every turn I make – be it teaching finance classes for our church or trying to teach adults with no business savvy to save for their future so they can invest.

Even Jesus said: “The broke will always be with you.”

It’s interesting to me that everyone wants to complain when it comes to not having enough money, but getting them to do something about it, other than whining louder? Priceless.

So I have taught you all I can. It is up to you to want the information and take your own risks. If you can use this information? Use it wisely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers

