Not with my tax dollars

by

Our government is sending $2 million in aid to Haiti.

I can’t seem to lay my finger on the section of the constitution that permits this.

Oh well, at least I don’t have to take personal moral responsibility for helping out Haiti. It’s “Someone Else’s Money” going to work for the good of mankind.

Once the federal government stops competing with churches and charities, I think a whole lot of people will stand up and exercise their duty as a human being to alleviate the suffering of their fellow human beings.

Collecting taxes or borrowing money with the promise if taxpayer money is no way to do this.

4 Responses to “Not with my tax dollars”

  1. Richard Gallant Says:

    I’m right there with you. No one asked me if it was okay to give my tax dollars to Haiti! This really pisses me off! Where was the rest of the world when New Orleans went under water?
    The US government sends billions of tax dollars overseas to aide other countries! What about the people in this country?! I earn a decent paycheck, but I’m struggling because over 35% of my income goes to federal, state and local taxes and “fees”.
    Too quote Thomas Jefferson:
    “Every generation needs a new revolution.”
    “If once the people become inattentive to the public affairs, you and I, and Congress and Assemblies, Judges and Governors, shall all become wolves. It seems to be the law of our general nature, in spite of individual exceptions.”
    I am so tired of my elected officials doing as they wish with my earnings and their closing in on my freedom! I’ve had enough!

    • Jonathan Gardner Says:

      Question for you to clarify for our liberal readers:

      Would you, yourself, donate money to help Haiti and general relief efforts worldwide?

      As for myself, I already do, and I would give a lot more if our government refused to steal money from the taxpayers to do so, and instead pointed to us to do the charity work.

    • demo kid Says:

      Where was the rest of the world when New Orleans went under water?

      http://deltafarmpress.com/news/090305katrina-offer/

      Ooops.

      • Jonathan Gardner Says:

        The Cubans needed those doctors more than we did. I don’t know whether it was a serious offer or whether we declined it, but either way, it was a symbolic gesture.

        Besides, we had no shortage of supplies or volunteers for Katrina. The problem was the leadership of the state and city.

Leave a Reply

