Two Sonic Booms

by

The loud explosions you just heard at about 1:50 PM over Tacoma were likely sonic booms. Since there were two, there were likely two planes flying faster than the speed of sound.

Our fighters are not allowed to fly faster than the speed of sound over our area during training. I wonder what is going on. There has been reports of the Russians penetrating Canadian and US airspace. Hopefully that’s all it was.

Update: http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100818/ap_on_re_us/us_mysterious_booms

4 Responses to “Two Sonic Booms”

  1. CDXX Says:

    It about knocked me to the ground here in Federal Way!

  2. Marilyn Says:

    We heard it in Federal Way. Sounded like a truck load of rocks was dumped on my home (2 times). All the neighbors came out of their houses. We concluded it wasn’t an earth quake, so sonic boom makes sense.

  3. Angela Says:

    I live in federal way and was on my balcony at the time of the second boom. I felt something that I’ve never felt before. It was like two waves of compressed air going trough my entire body, making my organs tremble. I was stunned, terrified and amazed.

  4. Jonathan Gardner Says:

    It turns out a small airplane violated the airspace of Air Force One and two fighters were scrambled.

Leave a Reply

