I-1100: Follow the Money

by

The ballots may have already arrived at your house. It seems the one controversial initiative is I-1100 (and to a lesser degree, I-1105). I want to help you make a good decision on this ballot by playing the old game of “follow the money”.

In this case, if I-1100 passes, who wins? Who is going to keep more of their money and who is going to earn more money?

First off, let’s come to one agreement: Alcohol is bad. OK, now that that’s out of the way, let’s figure out where the alcohol money should go.

Option One. If you oppose both I-1100 and I-1105, then you think that the money for alcohol should go to padding the state budget and keeping the incompetents in charge of our state liquor stores in charge. It means you think that rather than having a level playing field, you want to see the government hold all the cards and use its abusive monopoly for the purpose of depriving people of their rights.

Personally, I want nothing to do with the alcohol industry. I don’t want to spend a dime on it and I don’t want to make a dime off of it. I don’t want to own stock in any alcohol corporation. But with the way things are, by virtue of being a resident of Washington State, I don’t have any choice in the matter. My money is being spent to deliver alcohol to customers who want to drink it.

Option two. If you support I-1105 and oppose I-1100, then you want to transfer power over the distribution of alcohol from the state to a handful of corporations who make all their money from alcohol sales. I don’t see why they should get special or preferential treatment, so I don’t see why we should give them it.

Option three. If you support both I-1100 and I-1105, you’re basically giving power to the state courts to figure out how to reconcile the two. I don’t want the courts in charge of this, so I am not going to vote for both.

Option four. If you support I-1100 and oppose I-1105, you are giving control of alcohol distribution to the people. They get to determine whether they will carry it in their stores or not. I think this is where the power belongs. Either we put a blanket ban on alcohol, or we allow people to buy, sell, trade, manufacture, and consume it. Since we obviously don’t want a ban, I-1100 is the way to go.

By the way, the reason why the firefighter and police unions oppose both initiatives is not because of public safety. They really want to make sure that they don’t lose this income stream for their retirement benefits. That’s all it is. In fact, but having the interests of alcohol merchants and the police and firefighters set against each other, we are far more likely to see better enforcement of the laws on the books since there is no economic incentive for them to look the other way.

Leave a Reply

