I Really Don’t Like the TV News Format

by

Every once in a while, an article will pop up with an embedded video that’s lifted from a nightly news broadcast.

I simply can’t watch them anymore.

First off, I don’t need an announcer telling me what happened. If I want the facts of the event, I can read the transcript or a quick summary.

Second off, I don’t need you to jump around the raw footage to tell me what is interesting. Again, people can point me to things they liked and disliked, and I can fast forward or rewind myself.

Finally, your little interviews with “man on the street” and your mixing of opinion with facts by bending words and your intonation are not appreciated. That’s trying to invent news and information when there’s nothing there. If I want an opinion, I’ll read blog reactions to the news. If I want man-on-the-street opinion, I’ll read the comments.

Finally, I don’t have the time to wade through all the crap to get to the news. Just tell me, in as few words as possible, what happened. Show me the raw footage, and let me make my own interpretation of the news.

I don’t imagine I am alone anymore. I actually enjoy watching the boring debates and raw footage without the commentary or interpretation.

I wonder how long it will be before no one can make enough money to produce these news segments. Hopefully 2012 will see the end of it.

Leave a Reply

