In The World, Not Of The World

by

Article VI Blog has an interesting point. Members of the LDS church are proud to be recognized as different, and yet don’t like being recognized as different.

I don’t completely understand the sentiments the author is trying to convey. I have always understood that being LDS is a social anchor, meaning, I am never going to penetrate to certain levels of society as long as I keep my LDS faith. That isn’t because of who I am or what I become through my faith, but because of other people’s lack of charity and general sense of fairness. For instance, in the Republican Party, there is a large chunk of the population who will always detest me not because of what I’ve done or who I am, but because of my belief.

There are, of course, those who will despise me for my failings, which they are certainly welcome to do. There are others who will despise me for my successes, which they are welcome to do. And then there are those who will despise me no matter what I am because I profess to be a member of the LDS church. They are welcome to do that as well. I don’t like people to choose stupidity, but to each their own. My only hope is that the vast majority of us can identify and avoid stupidity around us.

In fact, I prefer those who despise me for my beliefs to just come out and say it—so I can despise them for their bigotry and work to make them a nothing in the party, the economy, and my life.

What does this mean for Romney? Well, I think Romney would make a fine candidate for the party. No, he’s not perfect. Yes, he is LDS. Those who would hold him down because of his LDS beliefs need to be called out on it, and “punished” accordingly, for their own short-sightedness and stupidity.

I think it would be wonderful if Romney were able to obtain the nomination for president. That would mean the Republican Party would finally be rid of the religious bigots among their ranks. Let them go back to the dark corners of American politics where they belong.

Leave a Reply

