National Secrets

by

I’m not sure what I believe on the latest from Wikileaks. When Julian Assange released countless classified documents, did he hurt me as an individual? Did he harm our country, and thus, myself?

I really can’t say. None of the secrets were that big of a surprise anyway. Yes, China is helping Iran and North Korea build nuclear weapons. We already knew that. Yes, the Arab nations really don’t like Iran. We already knew that.

To be honest, I like having so many of these so-called secrets in public. I don’t understand why so much of what our federal government has to be a secret anyway. Yes, there are secrets that are worth protecting, such as designs of our advanced weapons, our tactical and strategic plans in time of war, and other particularly sensitive things. However, affairs of state don’t necessarily require secrecy.

It concerns me that it seemed so trivial to get the information out in the first place. I guess that is the world we live in today. You can’t expect anything you put into a computer to be a secret for long nowadays. That’s not necessarily because computers are insecure. It’s mostly because in order for information to be useful, it has to lose its security and secrecy. I’ve known about this since 2000 when I discovered the Free Software movement.

I don’t understand liberals who are surprised that our country does bad things as a matter of standard practice. Is it a surprise that Hillary Clinton, our secretary of state, was spying on foreign diplomats? I am surprised that anyone would think so. I am surprised that Secretary Clinton even needs to tell anyone to spy on diplomats, friend of foe. After all, her job is to understand exactly what is really happening in the real world.

I hope that our government gets its act together. Either it has secrets that are worth keeping, or there aren’t secrets worth keeping. If there are secrets worth keeping, then we need to guard them and protect them. Allowing 3 million people access to those secrets is not protecting them.

Interesting note, the Savior spoke about something similar in Matthew 10:26-27.

Fear them not therefore: for there is nothing covered, that shall not be revealed; and hid, that shall not be known.
What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops.

If we’re living our lives where we need to keep things secret, maybe we’re not doing something right. If revealing our state secrets injures us, maybe we’re not behaving like we should as a country.

Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

