My Views on Muslims, Homosexuals, and Immigrants

by

Howard Dean ranted today about how the far-right elements of the Republican Party hates Muslims, homosexuals, and immigrants. (link)

Here’s what I truly believe.

It doesn’t matter who you are, or where you come from, you are equal to everyone else.

If you’re a Muslim, I welcome you, provided you do not violate other people’s right to life, liberty, and property. Unfortunately, many of the professors of Islam theology among the Muslims do not teach this. However, as long as you welcome freedom and liberty, and are willing to lay your life down to defend it, I will count you as a brother.

If you’re homosexual, either meaning that you have homosexual tendencies or that you actually engage in homosexual acts, then I welcome you as a brother. I warn and caution you that homosexual activity is contrary to God’s plan of happiness, and that you cannot be living in sin and find happiness, the kind of happiness that doesn’t go away but grows brighter every day. I will do all I can to help you overcome your sins and find life in Christ. As to the Muslims, whether or not you give up your sinful life and put your passions under control, as long as you will lay down your life to protect our rights to life, liberty and property, you are my national brother.

I may disagree with you on many topics. I don’t believe those who practice homosexual acts should be allowed to serve in the military, anymore than those who practice heterosexual acts outside of marriage. People who can’t control their bodies cannot be relied upon.

I also may disagree with you on homosexual marriage. I believe marriage between a man and a woman is in the best interests of the child, so much so that I believe every child has a right to a father and a mother who love them and love each other. This is part of the right to life. If you are not raised to live your life as a productive, happy member of our society, what life have you been given rights to live?

I also believe I have the right to teach my children right from wrong, and that homosexual activity is contrary to nature and God’s laws. Even if the government were to redefine its laws so that homosexual acts were not considered wrong, I would still teach it to my children. I believe you have the same right to teach your children right from wrong. But that we must also teach our children to submit to our laws, and that means we need to be careful that we don’t write laws that don’t expand our liberty.

To immigrants, I love you and I love that you want to live in our country, as long as your intentions are peaceful. Some of you, and you and I both know who they are, do not come here to work or to build up the country. It is for that reason and that reason alone that we must patrol our borders and use government force to protect ourselves. However, if you are here for peaceful purposes, then I wish our government was setup to welcome you with open arms. I envision a country without a social welfare system that could absorb all the poor people of the world at once, giving them an opportunity that wouldn’t exist anywhere else, to participate in our economy and find their own way to prosperity. However, our system is not that system today. We need to work together to eliminate the social programs, dramatically reduce government spending, taxes, and regulation, and free the economy so that a man who can barely speak our language is able to comfortably support his family doing what he knows how to do.

I don’t think Howard Dean was telling the truth. I certainly don’t hate Muslims, homosexuals or immigrants.

Of course, I don’t consider myself part of any right-wing ideology, so maybe he wasn’t talking about me. I believe in less government, limited government, a government that only protects our rights, but cannot grant or define them. A government that doesn’t participate in our economy, that doesn’t participate in charity, but only does those things which have the net effect of expanding our own rights to secure our own property and liberty.

2 Responses to “My Views on Muslims, Homosexuals, and Immigrants”

  1. tensor Says:

    Since you have yet to answer, I’ll ask again:

    I also may disagree with you on homosexual marriage. I believe marriage between a man and a woman is in the best interests of the child, so much so that I believe every child has a right to a father and a mother who love them and love each other.

    If your entire objection to gay marriage is based upon appeals to the welfare of children, then can childless gay couples marry?

    • Jonathan Gardner Says:

      Is it so hard to understand that when I say every child deserves a father and a mother it means one of their parents is a man and the other a woman? Why then would I support allowing a man to marry a man, or a woman a woman, if one of them have custody of a child?

Leave a Reply

