I Fired the Tacoma Teachers Union

by

Today is the first day of the teacher’s strike here in Tacoma.

Today is also the last day my five children will ever attend public school, as long as there is any kind of teachers union in place.

I fired the teachers union.

In addition, I am going to do whatever I can to break the union.

A free and beneficial education system is run by parents, for the children, through their representatives on the school board. Teachers, administrators, janitors, and lunch ladies are all a means to that end. They are hired by the consent of the parents, at the whim of the parents. They answer to the parents, and no other authority. What right do they think they have to hold our kids hostage?

The union could not exist were it not for their support from the state and federal governments. Remove that, and the unions will disappear.

This means the days of having our state and federal governments involved in public education is over. Our kids and our kid’s education is not a political prop. They are not negotiating chips. They are not going to be used as an item in a presidential debate ever again. The roles of defending our rights with force has nothing to do with educating our children. The government has no more right to be involved in education than they have in determining what we can eat, or what clothes we can wear, or what words we choose to use.

Our kids are the primary and only reason for our existence. Were it not for our kids, our entire world would be meaningless and void. If you believe in evolution, or God, or whatever, you will logically conclude the same. The propagation of our species, the sanctity of life, are one and the same.

5 Responses to “I Fired the Tacoma Teachers Union”

  1. Jennifer R. Says:

    Teachers and parents need to work together. I work in an “at will” charter school – we are not part of the union.

    I agree with the unions on some issues and disagree on others. Unfortunately we live in a litigious society and teachers do need some form of protection from capricious administrators and parents.

    It is completely your choice to not have your children in public schools – and isn’t wonderful we live in a country where you have other options.

    That being said, I wonder are you the type of parent who chose to work with teachers or against?

    Have you ever asked your children’s teachers how many hours outside of the school day they are working on lesson plans or grading papers? Have you ever asked them how much of their own money they spend on supplies, books, and other items to enhance learning? Have you ever asked them how difficult it can be to teach children who are emotionally absent because of difficult home lives – due to abuse, illness, poverty? How despite the hours and hoops we jump through our performance is still judged on how these children do in school – these children who often walk through our doors as young as 5 already years behind their peers in supportive households? How difficult it is to teach a child who is hungry? How difficult it is to teach a child who doesn’t know where home will be tonight or if mom is even coming to get them. How difficult it is to teach a child who barely sees his parents because they work two jobs? How difficult it is to teach exhausted children who are dropped off at daycare as early as 6:45 and won’t be picked up until 6 pm in the evening – with 6 hours of school in between. Are these the same parents you expect to run our school systems?

    I am a teacher. I am accountable to myself. I am accountable to my students.

    • Jonathan Gardner Says:

      I don’t care. I really can’t care. I have my own job, my own family, my own responsibilities. Welcome to real life! Do your job, don’t complain, and get it done. I don’t owe any teacher a dime. They don’t owe me anything. We live in a free society where you get to choose your profession, and you get to choose how to spend your time, talent, and emotions.

      If teaching is too difficult, DON’T TEACH. It’s not like you don’t know that there are kids and families with serious problems, that you don’t know that you’re counting on politicians to make sure you get paid on time (I certainly don’t trust them—why do you?)

      You’re absolutely right: You’re accountable to yourself. You’re accountable to the job you agreed to do. I’m not a teacher, but I have my own job and my own responsibilities.

      Can we grow up now and not feel an iota of sadness for law-breaking ignoramuses who can’t even tell that when you reduce classroom size, OF COURSE your salary will go down?

  2. Jennifer R. Says:

    I’m so glad that the teachers no longer have to deal with you as a parent.

    I truly tried to write a polite, thoughtful response and you are plain rude.

    Good luck paying tuition to a private school for your five children. I hope and pray they grow up to me more tolerant and polite than you.

  3. Jennifer R. Says:

    Grow up to be. Spell check.

    Ironically, I don’t necessarily agree with the teacher’s in Tacoma.

    • Jonathan Gardner Says:

      Wait, it’s impolite to think that you have to take care of your own responsibilities first? It’s impolite to tell people they are free to choose their own profession?

      What’s happening to our society, when it’s becoming impolite to explain to people that they are free and accountable to no one but themselves?

      Or are you referring to my calling law-breaking ignoramuses law-breaking ignoramuses as impolite? Breaking the law is wrong, being an idiot is being an idiot, and it’s doubly worse when children look up to you and you set that kind of example. If that’s impolite, then I am proud to be impolite.

Leave a Reply

