The Pro-Gay Marriage Argument

by

A WSJ writer details why the polls for marriage amendments and laws always favor, by a significant degree, the anti-traditional marriage degree. In short, those arguing against traditional marriage threaten the job security and safety of those who defend traditional marriage. And so when the pollster ask the question, people are likely to lie and say they oppose traditional marriage because they know publicly defending traditional marriage means you will be tarred and feathered.

I can’t disagree. I certainly don’t go about broadcasting that I believe marriage is between a man and a woman, even though probably 60%+ of the people I work with agree with me. Why? Those who want to destroy traditional marriage are likely to do something intolerant towards me, whereas those who defend traditional marriage are confident and don’t need to lash out at those who oppose them.

Here’s a hint, folks. If your political position boils down to, “I want to hurt my political opponents,” you’re in the wrong.

Leave a Reply

